Lucas Oil MLRA

  • 1
MAVTV Watch Anytime

MAVTV Watch Anytime

Watch MAVTV anytime on your favorite device!

MLRA Headed To Lucas Oil Speedway For $10,000 Season Finale -- October 28th


Lucas Oil MLRA

MLRA Headed To Lucas Oil Speedway For $10,000 Season Finale -- October 28th

Wheatland, Missouri (October 13th, 2023) – Lucas Oil MLRA series drivers will get one more crack at a $10,000 trip to Cedar Creek Beef Jerky Victory Lane in 2023, when the Lucas Oil Speedway host the MLRA's “Season Finale” on Saturday, October 28th in Wheatland, Missouri.

This late October schedule addition comes about after mother nature and a wet forecast, forced the mid-week cancellation of what was to have been the 4th Annual MLRA Championship Weekend at the Tri-City Speedway in Pontoon Beach, IL on October 13th – 14th. With previously scheduled events already filling up the October calendar at Tri-City Speedway, officials concluded that a make-up weekend at the home of the MLRA Championship would not be possible in 2023.

The MLRA Finale now becomes a one-day event paying $10,000 to the victor and $700 minimum to all qualifying drivers. It will also be the last opportunity of 2023 for drivers to accumulate MLRA points towards the series Championship, Sunoco Rookie of the Year, as well as the season long contingency awards, some of which are still up for grabs.

"We really appreciate Danny Lorton and his staff at Lucas Oil Speedway for giving us an opportunity to finish out the season on track. Winning a Championship is a big deal for anybody, and our series takes great pride in making the final night memorable for not only the winner, but also our Series Champion and Sunoco Rookie of the Year," commented MLRA Series Director Ernie Leftwich.

Chad and Chris Simpson will enter Wheatland as the top two drivers in the series standings, while top Sunoco Rookie of the Year candidate Dillon McCowan sits third. Daniel Hilsabeck and Trevor Gundaker occupy fourth and fifth, while Justin Duty, Jeff Herzog, Garrett Alberson, Tyler Stevens, and Dustin Hodges round out the MLRA top 10.

“With the rain received on Wednesday at Tri-City and the wet projections for this weekend we fully support the difficult decision the Gundaker’s and their team had to make in canceling this weekends event early. They are not just promotors, but they are racers too, so they understand the cost and time associated with travel when your facing a no win situation with mother nature,” noted MLRA Series Director Ernie Leftwich.

“Tri-City has become our Championship home over the past few season’s. They know how to put on a good show and how to make the entire weekend enjoyable for the fans and teams alike, so we look forward to getting back there again in 2024 and crowning our champion."

Fans, be sure to visit for additional event details on this upcoming race weekend. Lucas Oil Speedway is located at Highways 83 and 54 in Wheatland, Missouri. A campground with shower and bathroom facilities is also available. With its entrance located just outside the pit gate this sprawling scenic camping facility will continue to enhance the racing experience at the Diamond of Dirt Tracks.

Lucas Oil Speedway: Wheatland, MO (Race Day Info)--Saturday 10/28/23
Pit Gates: 3:00 PM, Grandstands 4:00 PM
Racing: Hot Laps - 5:30 PM, Racing - 6:05 PM
Admission: Adults (16+) $25, Seniors (62+)/Military $22, Youth (6-15) $10, Kids (5 & Under) FREE, Family Pass $60, Pit Pass $40
Support Classes: POWRi Super Stocks, & USRA Modifieds

Article Credit: Billy Rock

Submitted By: Billy Rock

Back to News
Live Timing

Sign Up for Our Newsletter

Sign Up

Official Merchandise

Merchandise Shop Now


Lucas Oil MLRAas of 6/7/2024
  • 1.Chad Simpson 955pts
  • 2.Gordy Gundaker 945pts
  • 3.Chris Simpson 940pts
  • 4.Trevor Gundaker 865pts
  • 5.Dillon McCowan 860pts
  • 6.Tony Jackson Jr830pts
  • 7.Earl Pearson Jr815pts
  • 8.Jeff Herzog 740pts
  • 9.Clayton Stuckey 685pts
  • 10.Aaron Marrant 665pts
Full Points