Lucas Oil MLRA

  • 1
MAVTV Watch Anytime

MAVTV Watch Anytime

Watch MAVTV anytime on your favorite device!

National Medal of Honor Museum
Stovall receives Lucas Oil MLRA championship awards



Stovall receives Lucas Oil MLRA championship awards

(Kansas City, MO) — Saturday evening the Lucas Oil MLRA officially put the wraps on the 2016 season with the annual Championship Awards Banquet. Held at Harrah’s Casino in Kansas City, Missouri, the evening paid tribute to the top ten is series points and highlighted the accomplishments of Series Champion, Jesse Stovall and Sunoco Rookie of the Year, Tad Pospisil.

The night started with a social hour, then opening remarks from Series Director, Dan Robinson prior to dinner. Following the meal, Assistant Series Director, Ernie Leftwich took the stage and thanked all of the marketing partners for their support, track promoters, staff and other key individuals to the series.

PHOTO CREDIT: Lloyd Collins/Fast Track Photos/

There was a special mention and photo slideshow dedicated to longtime series photographer Lloyd Collins, who is stepping away from the series for the upcoming season. Collins has been apart of the Lucas Oil MLRA for the past ten years.

The awards portion of the program was the final order of business for the evening. In addition to dispersing the $44,000 total series points fund, there were many season long awards handed out too.

Jesse Stovall amassed five wins on the tour this year with victories at Southern Iowa Speedway, I-80 Speedway, Adams County Speedway, Deer Creek Speedway and Lucas Oil Speedway. His championship share of the points fund is $15,000.

Tad Pospisil had a season best runner up finish at Junction Motor Speedway in his maiden trek though the Lucas Oil MLRA schedule. His lucrative bonus, courtesy of Rookie of the Year sponsor Sunoco Race Fuels, consists of $2,500 and six barrels of his choice of fuel for the coming season.

This week Lucas Oil MLRA officials will be busy at the Performance Racing Industry Trade Show, held annually at the Indiana Convention Center in downtown Indianapolis, Indiana. They will meet with racers, marketing partners and various other industry insiders, in preparation for the 2017 season and beyond.

Season Long Award Winners Hard Luck Award $500 Brantlee Gotschall
Casey’s General Stores Hard Charger Award $750 Terry Phillips
Lucas Oil MLRA Crew Chief of the Year $250 Tony (Tommy Boy) Rogers Pole Award $500 Jesse Stovall
Malvern Bank Most Laps Led $1,000 Jesse Stovall

Final Point Standings

  1. Jesse Stovall 1952
  2. Terry Phillips 1834
  3. Dave Eckrich 1686
  4. Tad Pospisil 1653
  5. Tony Jackson Jr. 1616
  6. JC Wyman 1549
  7. Brantlee Gotschall 1521
  8. Austin Siebert 1374
  9. Jason Papich 1356
  10. Randy Timms 1007

For all of the latest news and information fans are encouraged to visit the series website at

Fans may also “like” the Lucas Oil MLRA Facebook page by clicking or follow us on Twitter at

Submitted By: Kirk Elliott

Back to News
Live Timing

Sign Up for Our Newsletter

Sign Up

Official Merchandise

Merchandise Shop Now


Lucas Oil MLRAas of 6/7/2024
  • 1.Chad Simpson 955pts
  • 2.Gordy Gundaker 945pts
  • 3.Chris Simpson 940pts
  • 4.Trevor Gundaker 865pts
  • 5.Dillon McCowan 860pts
  • 6.Tony Jackson Jr830pts
  • 7.Earl Pearson Jr815pts
  • 8.Jeff Herzog 740pts
  • 9.Clayton Stuckey 685pts
  • 10.Aaron Marrant 665pts
Full Points