Skip to main content

Salina Highbanks Speedway Set To Host 6Th Annual "Freedom Classic"

Tuesday, June 25, 2019
MLRA Series point leader Will Vaught (1V) will look to halt defending series Champion Chad Simpson's(25) win streak at this weekends Freedom Classic. Lloyd Collins - FastTrack Photos

Wheatland, Missouri (June 25, 2019) - Defending Lucas Oil MLRA Series Champion Chad Simpson along with current series leader Will Vaught, will look to lead the series into this weekend's two-day affair at the Salina Highbanks Speedway in Pryor Creek, OK. The 6th Annual ARMI "Freedom Classic", Presented by Henryetta Ford, will feature two complete shows on Friday June 28th and Saturday June 29th at Oklahoma's Premier Dirt Track.

Drivers and fans can expect to find a strong field of cars on hand, as for the first time in 2019 the stars of the Lucas Oil MLRA will collide with their counterparts from the Comp Cams Super Dirt Series Presented by Lucas Oil, in a co-sanctioned Super Late Model event. Friday night's feature winner will collect $3,000 while Saturdays "Freedom Classic" winner will pocket $5,000 and the coveted Eagle trophy. Friday night feature qualifiers are guaranteed $400 to start while Saturday's main event bumps to $500.

Chad Simpson has already matched his win total of one year ago, and enters the weekend riding a three race win streak with the MLRA series. The recent streak of domination by the driver of the Jay Dickens powered Black Diamond Chassis has also shot him to the top of the Cedar Creek Beef Jerky "Most Laps Led"contingency board, where he has led an astonishing 99 of 120 possible laps during his win streak.

Simpson grabbed the opening night win at Salina one year ago, while Jesse Stovall picked up Saturday nights $5k pay day. Stovall has historically been a force at the 3/8 mile high banked clay oval with three MLRA wins to his credit, the first two coming in a sweep back in 2015. Springfield, Missouri veteran Terry Phillips also enters the weekend with three Eagle trophies on his mantle, the first coming in 2014, before Phillips swept the show in 2017 leading him to his fourth series title.

The Clements powered XR1 Rocket Chassis of Vaught comes into the weekend leading the Pole Award Standings by virtue of his four top qualifier marks in 2019. In addition, Vaught also leads the way in the Midwest Sheet Metal "Point Leader Spoiler Challenge", having led the season championship battle since the series third event back on April 26th at the Thunderbird Speedway.

Mitch McGrath currently resides in the second spot, trailing Vaught by just 47 points. The driver from Waukesha, WI led the opening laps last Friday at the Rapid Speedway in the debut of a new Rocket XR1, before encountering fuel issues late in the going, resulting in a 7th place run.

Logan Martin will charge into the weekend atop the Casey's General Stores"Hard Charger Standings," via his 55 positions gained on track through the first thirteen events. Martin who is also the leading Sunoco Race Fuels"Rookie Of The Year" candidate, sits third in the overall season standings, and was the only driver one year ago to record back-to-back top five finishes at the Highbanks. Fellow MLRA rookie Jake Neal, who suffered motor issues last Thursday at Cresco Speedway and was forced into a borrowed car at Rock Rapids, hangs onto forth while Story City, Iowa's Jeremy Grady moves up and into the fifth position with just nine events remaining.

While the Lucas Oil MLRA has been fortunate enough to beat mother more times than not in 2019, the drivers of the Comp Cams Super Dirt Series have fallen victim to postponements and cancellations in all but four events to date. Lebanon, Missouri driver Tony Jackson, Jr. is off to a hot start with the series with two wins in his first four starts and a 140 point lead over Kyle Beard. Hunter Rasdon, BJ Robinson, and two-time feature winner, Billy Moyer complete the top five.

Friday night's card will also include Round two of the AmeriFlex B-Mod Bedlam Series along with the S&J Plumbing Pure Stocks, while Saturday will see the LKQ Pick Your Part A-Modifieds joining the B-Mods in support class action.

Salina Highbanks Speedway: Pryor Creek, OK Race Day Info--

Friday 6/28

Gates:5:00 PM
Racing:Hot Laps - 6:30 PM, Races - 7:00 pm
Admission:Adults GA $15, Seniors GA $12, Kids (6-12 yrs) $5, Kids (5 & under) FREE

Support Classes:B-Modifieds, Pure Stocks

Salina Highbanks Speedway: Pryor Creek, OK Race Day Info-- Saturday 6/29

Gates:5:00 PM
Racing:Hot Laps - 6:30 PM, Races - 7:00 pm
Admission:Adult GA $20, Senior GA $17, Kids (6-12 yrs) $10, Kids (5 & under) FREE
Support Classes:Modifieds & B-Modifieds

For all of the latest news and information fans are encouraged to visit the series website at

Fans may also "like" the Lucas Oil MLRA Facebook page by clicking or follow us on Twitter at

Ernie Leftwich
Lucas Oil MLRA Series Director
Mobile: (417) 309-3509